Jump to Content
DOE Environmental Management
Greater-Than-Class-C Low-Level Radioactive Waste EIS
Home About the EIS Getting Involved Greater-Than-Class-C Low-Level Radioactive Waste Guide EIS Documents News Frequently Asked Questions Glossary E-mail Services
Greater-Than-Class C Low-Level Radioactive Waste EIS Information Center

Guide to GTCC Waste
 Radiation Basics
 Low-Level Waste
 GTCC Quantities
 GTCC Disposal
 Proposed Disposal Locations


Frequently Asked Questions

Greater-Than-Class C Low-Level Radioactive Waste (GTCC LLRW) EIS Links

Use the links on this page to access resources related to GTCC LLRW and the GTCC EIS.

U.S. Department of Energy

U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
DOE's overarching mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States; to promote scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission; and to ensure the environmental cleanup of the national nuclear weapons complex.

DOE Office of Environmental Management (EM)
The Office of Environmental Management (EM) is responsible for the risk reduction and cleanup of the environmental legacy of the Nation's nuclear weapons program, one of the largest, most diverse, and technically complex environmental programs in the world.

DOE EM Regulatory Compliance
Although the Department of Energy is not a regulatory agency, EM is affected by a variety of statutes, legislation, regulations, directives and guidance. This Web page contains information about EM's waste and material disposition.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements.

NRC Low-Level Waste Disposal Page
Information about NRC's responsibilities and methods for regulating disposal of low-level radioactive waste.

Task Force on Radiation Source Protection and Security
The Nuclear Regulatory Commission chairs the Task Force on Radiation Source Protection and Security, which is comprised of independent experts from 14 Federal agencies and two State organizations. The Task Force is charged by the Energy Policy Act of 2005 to evaluate and provide recommendations relating to the security of radiation sources in the U.S. from potential terrorist threats, including acts of sabotage, theft, or use of a radiation source in a radiological dispersal device.

Potential DOE GTCC LLRW Disposal Sites

Hanford Site

Idaho National Laboratory (INL)

Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)

Nevada National Security Site (NNSS)

Savannah River Site

Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP)